My First (Baby) Blanket Ever!

As I have said before, I am fairly new to crochet. I am almost finished with my first blanket ever. I started a blanket for myself and then found out a dear friend was pregnant. What to do other than put my new skill to use? I used Lucy from Attic 24’s Neat Ripple Pattern, which is the pattern I also used for the blanket I started for myself. I am so so glad I found her blog early on in my crochet journey. She writes the best tutorials and explains everything so clearly. As you can see from the picture, I still have all my loose ends to weave in and I think I’ll need to make 5 or so more color changes. I’m debating on whether to block it or not. I’ve never blocked anything before and don’t know if I even have anything large enough to do it on. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

20140618-115955-43195602.jpg

20140618-120014-43214606.jpg

Another project I have done from Lucy’s blog is her Happy Flower Decoration. I wanted to make something special for my mom on Mother’s Day and this was absolutely perfect. As a beginner, it took me a while to make all the small pieces but I loved every minute of it. It has been my favorite small project yet, and of course the detailed tutorial made it stress-free.

20140618-114552-42352137.jpg

I will be sharing my finished baby blanket before I ship it off to a dear friend and will hopefully be sharing progress of my own ripple blanket. If you have not checked out Lucy’s blog, Attic 24, do that right now for tons of cute tutorials. I am determined to one day make every single pattern.

Have a wonderful, yarn-filled day!

—Kelsey

4 thoughts on “My First (Baby) Blanket Ever!

  1. Your blanket is lovely! I’ve never blocked before either but I’m currently working on the granny stripe blanket also from attic24. Will be interested to see how you get on with the ripple blanket, think that will be next on my to do list 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! I love the pattern because you don’t get bored with it. The stitches are always changing. I made each color two rows thicker than what the pattern says for this baby blanket, but my personal ripple blanket has thinner strips of color.

      Like

  2. So glad to welcome another crafter to crochet, it is so wonderful to be able to create personal gifts as you have so generously found already. Blocking is almost always a good idea, how you do it depends on the type of yarn. Acrylic yarns can be blocked using steam from a hot iron, but I stress ONLY the steam, never allow the iron to touch the yarn. To block 100% wool I have always preferred to pin the item into shape then use a water spray to dampen and leave to dry naturally. Using a chequered piece of fabric will help to maintain consistancy of your project size when you pin it out. Hope this helps.

    Like

    • Thanks for the help and the warm welcome! I have been reading up on blocking but there’s just soo much information out there, and it seems like everyone has a different strategy. I will definitely be using your advice. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

