On to Brighter Things

I have finally finished my first baby blanket! Sadly I will not get to keep it and enjoy it, but my friend and her new baby will hopefully get many years of cuddles out of it. As can be expected I took many, many pictures, but I will just share a few with you. If you did not see my last post, I used Lucy from Attic 24’s Neat Ripple Pattern. I made each ripple of color twice as thick as the pattern indicates. Now I can get back to working on my own ripple blanket.

20140625-183539-66939578.jpg

20140625-183539-66939975.jpg

20140625-183539-66939184.jpg

Ready to be shipped off along with two homemade burp clothes and an amazing book.

I have literally bought yarn for three different projects in the past two weeks, and last night I bought even more. This time I’m really going to stick to this one project (while working on my ripple blanket here and there). We will see how that goes. I decided to make Lucy’s Jolly Chunky Bag. I chose the smaller of her two bag patterns because I want something I can carry around town. I am someone who normally carries a larger purse, so I really hope it will be big enough, although I think the larger bag pattern would be too large. I tried to find a photo of someone actually holding the bag but failed in my attempt. On another note, I have quickly realized that sometimes when browsing patterns online I fall more in love with one’s color choice vs. the actual item. I usually go with either pastel colors or bright colors, so naturally I fell in love with Lucy’s color choices for her Jolly Chunky Bag that were a little bit of both. That being said, I chose similar colors in hopes that I won’t stop halfway through the project and not like it as I have in the past. As a beginning crocheter, I have had so much fun experimenting with different color combinations. That’s half the fun, right? Here are the colors, all chunky and new. All are Lion Brand Hometown USA except the lavender which is Bernat Softee Chunky. The Hometown USA yarn was fun to look at, because each yarn is named after a state. For example, the pink is named Honolulu Pink. I hope to get started tonight.

20140625-184341-67421242.jpg

Have a happy day!
—Kelsey

Leave a Reply

